Ólöf Nordal, Minister of the Interior

Ólöf Nordal, Minister of the Interior since 4 December 2014.

Ólöf Nordal, Minister of the Interior.Ólöf Nordal was born in Reykjavík on 3 December 1966. Her parents are Jóhannes Nordal, former Governor of the Central Bank of Iceland, and Dóra Guðjónsdóttir Nordal, pianist and housewife. Her husband is Tómas Már Sigurðsson, Chief Operating Officer of Alcoa Global Primary Products, and they have four children.


Ólöf graduated from Reykjavík Upper Secondary School in 1986. She received her law degree from the University of Iceland in 1994 and an MBA from Reykjavík University in 2002.



Professional experience

Ólöf served as a department head in the Ministry of Transport and Communications from 1996 through 1999. Thereafter, she worked as a lawyer for the Iceland Stock Exchange (1999-2001) and an instructor of law at Bifröst University (1999-2002), where she chaired the Business Law Department from 2001-2002. She then served as head of wholesale business at Landsvirkjun (2002-2004) and director of sales at RARIK – Iceland State Electricity (2004-2005). During her tenure at RARIK, electricity sales were transferred to a separate company, Orkusalan, where Ólöf served as managing director from 2005-2006. Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Central Bank of Iceland 2013-2014.

Ólöf was elected to the Parliament of Iceland in 2007. She was a Member of Parliament for the Northeast Constituency from 2007-2009 and for the Reykjavík South Constituency from 2009-2013.

Community service and committee activities

Ólöf chaired Auður, the Association of Independence Party Women in East Iceland, from 2006-2009 and served as Vice-Chairman of the Independence Party from 2010-2013. For a period of time she was chairman of Spes, a charitable organisation devoted to the construction of children's villages in Africa.

Ólöf has sat on the following Parliamentary committees:

  • General Affairs Committee: 2007-2010
  • Transport and Communications Committee: 2007-2009
  • Environment Committee: 2007-2009
  • Budget Committee: 2009-2010
  • Credentials Committee: 2009-2011
  • Special Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 2010-2011
  • Foreign Affairs Committee: 2010-2011
  • Constitutional and Supervisory Committee: 2011-2013.

Photo: Ernir Eyjólfsson